Australia, Bus Industry News

Voting opens for Queensland Bus Driver of the Year award

Now is the time to recognise your favourite Queensland bus drivers with the finalists named in the three categories

The Queensland government has announced that voting is now open for the Queensland Bus Driver of the Year award.

With the finalists locked in, voting is now open to nominate your favourite Queensland bus driver before March 21.

The finalists for each category are:

Regional bus driver of the year:

–       Kevin Jenkins – Trans North (Cairns)

–       Michael Gurney – Sunbus (Townsville)

–       John Schakell – Wide Bay Transit (Hervey Bay)

School bus driver of the year: 

  • Glen Schemioneck – CDC Queensland (Sunshine Coast)
  • Keren Ashton – Westside Bus Company (Ipswich)
  • Deb Porter – Stonehenge Action Group (Central West Queensland) 

Southeast Queensland bus driver of the year: 

  • Sharif Shafey – Transport for Brisbane (Toowong)
  • Jason Morris – Transport for Brisbane (Upper Mt Gravatt)
  • Sue Bishop – Transdev (Capalaba)

Head of Translink Sally Stannard says narrowing down nine finalists from 1,000 nominations was a mammoth task.

RELATED ARTICLE: Keolis Downer Hornibrook provides concert help

“Many passengers took time to nominate their favourite driver, which is a positive endorsement of the quality of service delivered by our Queensland bus drivers,” Stannard says.

“Since we started the awards in 2018, we have seen some amazing finalists, and now it’s time for Queenslanders to vote for who they’d like to win this year.

“Voting closes on March 21, so take the time to view the videos of our finalists and make your selection.”

Queensland transport and main roads minister Mark Bailey congratulated the finalists and all nominees.

“These awards are a great way to recognise the essential role bus drivers have, safely transporting people every day to and from their families, work, leisure, appointments and other activities,” Bailey says.

Voting is open from March 7 – 21. The winner in each category will be announced during this year’s Queensland Bus Industry Council Conference. 

For more information about Bus Driver of the Year awards visit the Translink website.

  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend