By: Fabian Cotter, Photography by: courtesy QBIC

ALTHOUGH the 2020 Queensland Bus Industry Council had postponed its big annual conference this year due to the Covid-pandemic impact, it was able to hold a small gathering to celebrate its Industry Award winners, recently.

Each year QBIC's achievers and contributors, “…raise the bar and standard on what they have done," like Gary Stewart [left] from Keolis Downer/Hornibrook Bus Lines.

Held in November at the Norman Hotels Longhorn Room, QBIC was keen to acknowledge its "great achievers and contributors" and to "…present our awards to the winners in the year that they were recognised for their achievements and contributions to our industry," rather than carrying them over to QBIC’s 2021 conference.

As the bus organisation explains, each year its Queensland achievers and contributors, "…raise the bar and standard on what they have done, what they achieved and how they have contributed to our great Industry," explained QBIC executive director and association secretary David Tape.

"And I am sure that next year will be no different," he added.





This year QBIC acknowledged the following award recipients with awards presented by Translink deputy director-general Matthew Longland and QBIC president Frank Oliveri.

* The Manmeet Sharma Perpetual Professional Driver Award – Gary Stewart (Keolis Downer/Hornibrook Bus Lines)


* Outstanding Contribution – Rolf Mitchell (Keolis Downer/Hornibrook Bus Lines)

Outstanding_1 x.jpg

* Achiever of the Year Award – Lachlan Craike (Caboolture Bus Lines)

Achiever_2 x.jpg

* Outstanding Employer Award – Volvo Bus Australia

Employer_1 x.jpg

* Supplier of the Year Award – Mercedes-Benz Truck and Bus

Supplier_1 x.jpg

* Environmental & Innovation Award – CAVBUS Logan Coaches

Environment_1 x.jpg

* Apprentice of the Year Award – Jarrod Palethorpe (Keolis Downer/Hornibrook Bus Lines)

Apprentice_1 x.jpg

* Executive Directors Award – Scott Campbell (Transdev Queensland Bus)

ED_Choice_3 x.jpg



QBIC also again acknowledged members for their long service and dedication to the bus and coach Industry in the state.

The following members achieved the indicated milestones below:


Company                                              Years of Service

Purser’s Coaches                                    40 years

Southern Cross Transit                            40 years

Barton’s Buses                                        30 years

Carbridge Pty Ltd                                    30 years

Eurombah Creek Bus Committee               30 Years

H.I.S Australia Pty Ltd                              30 Years

Hubbards Coaches                                   30 Years

Purple Turtle Disability Transport Pty Ltd    30 Years

Brisbane Charter Bus Pty Ltd                     20 Years

Gary J Pagel                                             20 Years

Westside Bus Company                             20 Years

L J Creevey                                              20 Years


Overall, the council says it was great to catch up with industry colleagues over a relaxed lunch and it again thanks Matthew Longland (deputy director-general Translink) and Graham Davis (general manager Passenger Transport Services Translink) for taking time to attend and being part of the QBIC 2020 awards ceremony.

RELATED (6).png

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the ABC e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook