Green Orbital bus team take achiever gong

An industry-government bus routing and technology collaboration receives high praise at the annual BusVic Expo

Green Orbital bus team take achiever gong
Green Orbital bus team take achiever gong

By David Goeldner | [July 2, 2010]

Victoria’s bus and coach industry acknowledged its best performers at the annual BusVic award presentations at Moonee Valley race course this week.

Public transport parliamentary secretary Brian Tee handed the Green Orbital Bus team the state’s ABCUA Industry Achiever Award.

Grenda Transit’s Greg Rayner accepted the award on the team’s behalf.

BisVic Executive Director Chris Lowe says the green orbital is a "shining example" of collaboration between operators.

The team includes Grenda’s, Department of Transport, East West, Tullamarine Bus Lines and Volgren.

Since April the initiative uses ‘Smart Bus’ routing and technology around Melbourne, with plans for expansion over coming months.

The Green Orbital Bus is now in the running to represent Victoria at the national BIC industry achiever award later this year.

The awards celebrated the industry’s youngest champions through to its oldest.

Sorting out who should take apprentice of the year was a tough task from the many entries received, Lowe says.

"We were unable to select one, so we have two winners," he says.

Latrobe Valley Bus Lines’ Toby Richardson and Moreland Bus Lines’ Lachlan Cuscadden share the top apprentice honour.

Next up on stage was Monash University’s John Clements taking an industry contribution award for his efforts in industry education.

Lowe says Clements role in accreditation is unparalleled.

"John worked extensively with government and transport operators in developing industry education and co-operative research activities," Lowe says.

Accrediting operators for the past ten years, Clements’ success with this program was supported by Monash colleague Astid De Alwis who takes over the new accreditation regime in 2011.

Sharing industry contribution kudos is John Morarty, a past president of BusVic and industry stalwart through his family’s Ivanhoe Bus Company, and more recently Coburg Bus Lines.

A popular choice as Industry Contribution Award recipient, Morarty was joined by his family and colleagues at the BusVic Awards.

Lowe says the Morarty family has made a significant contribution to Victoria’s bus and coach industry.

The Mylon family from north-eastern Victoria was also honoured in the same award category through Bernie Mylon who led several regional committees prior to his recent retirement.

Mylon sold the family’s Wodonga-based business to Dysons in 2008.

This year’s Honorary Life Member is Doug Kefford AO, another BusVic past president and industry champion.

Lowe says Kefford’s Federal government lobbying achieved ‘enviable’ public transport outcomes for Victoria.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the ABC e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook